THOUGHTS OF THE DAY: 2

BRUTAL HONESTY AND JUDGMENT

honesty

Welcome back for another day of my thoughts based on my question of the day. A few days ago I asked “Is it the judgment or the brutal honesty that makes us uncomfortable” everyone that answered that question said yes and why not expect an answer like yes; I think it’s true.

But what separates judgment and honesty no matter how brutal it is or is not? My friend Brian makes a great statement “Many take honesty as judgment. People often don’t like to know the truth.”

This is very true and you will see this quite often, my FB friend Brenda expands on this saying “I say the brutal honesty that we ourselves refuse to accept about ourselves! Sometimes our friend’s family and co- workers are good mirrors for life.

We don’t like to hear brutal honesty so we cry judgment in the hopes that perpetrator will turn and run based on the Biblical saying judge not least you be judged Matthew 7:1 but most tend to forget the purpose for this quote is in Matthew 7:2. It’s not to stop people from judging ever but to remind people if your prepared to judge be prepared to be judged. 

But what is brutal honesty, my thoughts are brutal honesty is telling the truth knowing it can cause division or strife. For some we hope to stop the offender using this tactic and for others they just enjoying seeing others fail. 

Should we use brutal honesty, not all the time but sometimes when truth is the up most important then it must be said no matter how brutal it may be.

Judgment is not always honesty; judgment may be just that a call based on your judgment it may or may not be correct.

I have always thought I had the right to judge if it was for a righteous cause. That would be to stop something or somebody from doing bad or becoming bad or wrong the debate becomes who defines what is bad, wrong or right.

Leftist love relativism so they cry foul when you define something right or wrong that they are not comfortable, they view that as judgment. While conservatives will use hypocrisy to cry foul feeling judgment is being used over honesty two different believes but effective none the less no one wants to be called out for judging and no one wants to be called a hypocrite.  

I think my question proves right, we as people don’t like judgment or brutal honesty. I have to tell you I would rather be judged than have someone tell me the brutal honest truth of my mistake.

I don’t mind being judged because the way I see it I’m either doing it right or I’m doing it wrong and depending on who is doing the judgment allows me to see if I’m right or wrong on my terms.

Brutal honesty is hard, it means I was really in my heart trying to do something right and I failed and nobody enjoys failing.

The difference is how that brutal honesty is delivered and a lot of the time it can make or break somebody’s heart.

Leave a Reply

